PDA

View Full Version : Clutch smells on new-ish bike gsx250 6000ks

init
24th May 2004, 13:05
Hi,

1st post :D
OK, so i'm very new to the world of biking. I've got a new gsx 250, and have done about 6000km's on it.

The past couple of days it smells like the clutch has beens slipping or getting hot. I can't feel it slip though...
Problem is, i don't want to ride it back to paraparaumu in case it causes damage, but i don't want to leave it in town in the open... :doh:

I guess i have 3 questions:
1) what could be causing the clutch to smell?
2) Should i ride it?
3) Can i do any basic stuff to fix it? eg. Tighten anything?

Some more info:

Since i've had it, i first of all noticed that the clutch level was quite stiff. It is now much more looser. Not flopping all over the place loose though.

It's now due in for it's 2nd service (6000kms) too... but i could only get it booked in at the unnamed wellington store for 31st May... so no luck there.

Thanks for your help!

jrandom
24th May 2004, 13:10
OK, so i'm very new to the world of biking. I've got a new gsx 250, and have done about 6000km's on it.

Welcome to the forum. You're supposed to put your *actual* bike in your profile, so that people don't read your posts and think you ride a ZX-10R :eyepoke:

SWK will be along shortly to advise on the clutch.

FROSTY
24th May 2004, 13:17
If the bike has travelled such low milage Id suggest looking at clutch cable adjustment.Have a look at the clutch lever and see if there is freeplay in it
The lever needs to have freeplay before taking up.

init
24th May 2004, 13:21
Welcome to the forum. You're supposed to put your *actual* bike in your profile, so that people don't read your posts and think you ride a ZX-10R :eyepoke:

SWK will be along shortly to advise on the clutch.

lol, ooops - i thought that was my dream bike area :Oops:

init
24th May 2004, 13:32