PDA

View Full Version : A request - Cornering help

justsomeguy
23rd June 2006, 23:31
Hi there,

I've been riding regularly for about 13-14 months now, mostly doing weekend rides and have done approximately 40,000 kms in that time.

Now for some reason I'm not as comfortable with my right hand cornering as my left hand cornering.

If there is any one who can give me some decent pointers on what I'm doing wrong I'll be really grateful and you can have in return a free lunch and $50 (fifty dollars) in petrol vouchers - I'm dead serious.

I'd prefer someone with a fair amount of track experience rather than someone with a lot of pure road experience.

Please PM me rather than reply in this thread if you feel up to the challenge.

Regards,
JSG

SwanTiger
23rd June 2006, 23:45
You can follow me through Woodcocks/West Coast Road if you buy me a Pie in Warkworth tomorrow.

I use to have the same problem as you, but found the solution was changing my perception and lines. Its just the natural "consequences" effect, you think worse will happe due to environment/circumstances in regards to left/right cornering.

Just takes practise.

EDIT: Going around a Go Kart track on a bucket helps too.

First time on the track, straight after I could get my peg down on the hyosung when ever I wanted.

James Deuce
23rd June 2006, 23:49
Look through the corner, not at it.

Don't look at stuff on the left hand side of the road.

Stay to the left of your lane on approach so you aren't dangling your body over the centreline.

Plan your approach: Where to brake, where to release the brakes, where to turn in, where to apex, where to accelerate out of the corner.

Do one thing at a time - brake - turn - accelerate.

Most of all look through the corner.

Practice. No one can do it for you.

Don't forget to look through the corner, not at it.

scumdog
23rd June 2006, 23:59