PDA

View Full Version : Talking about needing support....

Zukin
29th June 2006, 11:02
Hi

As a complete novice when it comes to adventure riding, does anyone want to share their experiences, or hints on how to stop getting a sore butt when riding long distances, day after day on seats that arent really made for comfort??

I know from experience the ole butt gets a little tender after a few hours in the seat off road, and I stand up a bit offroad, so I guess if I was sitting on it longer and further it could get quite uncomfortable.:gob:

Should we be training for larger distances? is it something that you get "used" to after a while?

I see some riders have sheepskin covers, does this make a difference?

Cheers

Motu
29th June 2006, 11:17
Stop often,you need to check the sights,take photos and stuff.Stand up through every small town,or where the going is slow enough to allow you to stand up for a few kms,stretch at the same time.A sheepskin is good....and can supply comfort on lonely nights too.

XP@
29th June 2006, 13:11
Use a kidney belt!
especially if your long distance involves some rough stuff.

and the sheep skin helps too. Don't bother with a specially fitted one, a throw over, tuck in and bungee works really well, fast to get on and off when it starts to rain. your local sheepskin place should do you one for $50-$60

ZeroIndex
29th June 2006, 13:27
Use a kidney belt!

and the sheep skin helps too. Don't bother with a specially fitted one, a throw over, tuck in and bungee works really well, fast to get on and off when it starts to rain. your local sheepskin place should do you one for $50-$60
hmmm.. i'll have to think about looking at one of those.. although I should be fine (aka: too hard-arsed to spend money at the moment, trying to save for a better bike)

Zukin
29th June 2006, 14:01
Use a kidney belt!

Hi

Thanks for that hint about the kidney belt, I had never thought about that (see I told you I was a novice):doh:

Cheers

Transalper