PDA

View Full Version : [CBR 250R MC19] Trouble with rear brake caliper...

Nouvelle Chicane
18th July 2006, 18:42
Hi, i'm just going to go straight to the point here... i'm a newbie with bikes and tried to replace my rear brake pads of my MC19 and had a problem with pushing the piston back in so the new pads can be fitted... my friend and i tried pushing it back with this tool (:blah:) that spreads wide open when u turn the lever... forget what it's called haha... but yeah that didnt work argh!

should i take it to a mechanic? is there something that i didnt do right??

Sketchy_Racer
18th July 2006, 18:54
the piston most likely be covered in raod crap etc. it may be jamming up the piston not letting it slide back in to the seals.

did you take the resivor cap off before trying to do this? it may be possible that there is no more room for the fluid in the resivor

Wasp
18th July 2006, 20:18
hehe dont feel bad, i clamped my brake pads together too.

just careful what you use to push them apart, its not so bad with the pistons but with me i risked damaging the pads and then them causing damage to the front disc.

FROSTY
18th July 2006, 22:02
In short I dont suggest you stuff around with ya brakes if ya dont know how--too darn important.
If you live out west Ill sort em for ya --and you watch what Im doing.
Bring the new pads and a bottle of brake fluid

MattRSK
18th July 2006, 22:02
Hey nice bike. Hope you get it sorted.

Nouvelle Chicane
20th July 2006, 13:15
In short I dont suggest you stuff around with ya brakes if ya dont know how--too darn important.
If you live out west Ill sort em for ya --and you watch what Im doing.
Bring the new pads and a bottle of brake fluid
cheers for the offer but i live in east auckland :D