PDA

View Full Version : Starting out

XR250 Si
25th July 2006, 12:12
Hi all,

I am just getting into motorcycling and will hopefully be buying my first bike in the next month or so ('06 Honda XR250L).

What I need to do is get my riding gear sussed. Will mostly be using bike to commute to work daily and use off the beaten track in the weekends. Will mostly be gravel and light stuff to start off with until my confidence builds

I have had a look at the Dririder range and think I will go for the Rallycross Evo jacket with the upgrade kit and the Rallycross pants. The Rallycross gloves seem to have a good amount of protection too, although I haven't had a chance to have a proper squiz at them (only seen these on the Dririder website).

I'm seeing all these boots and helmets, but what I need to know is what to look at and what to avoid. I would prefer to have just one pair of boots that I can use for on road/off road. With regards to the helmet, should I be looking at the closed face style or the motorcross style with goggles?

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers

degrom
25th July 2006, 12:31
Welcome to KiwiBiker(KB)....

Helmet - I would go for the closed face if you are going to commute a lot. It keeps the wind and weather out. But the open-faced once looks cooler with a XR.

Boots - Get comfortable once!! You will be using them a lot and I would hate to ride around with sore feet!!!

Your gear is something that defines you. (Don't take orange boots if you don't like it!!!)

Zukin
25th July 2006, 12:39
Hi there

Welcome
It wasnt too long ago that I stumbled on this website too:yes:

Most of the guys on here are fantastic, I also ride on the 250, and am currently looking at all the gear.
Whislt I have trail riding gear, I have found it too cold when on the open road for long periods of time

In regards to the Jackets and Pants, you are looking at the right ones there, these are what I am about to buy too.