PDA

View Full Version : Traction, the Limit

F5 Dave
27th July 2006, 11:47
A friend interested in vocalising opinions for the purposes of training etc asked me the question about the limit of traction & how to recognise it & teach it. He has a far better knowledge of this, but is always listening.

I am no expert (& am not pretending to be) but I figured if I wrote this spiel I might as well cut & paste it here as well.

Limit of traction
I used to think about this. On my ride to work when I lived in Karori I went the same way. I rode at what I thought was a safe & brisk pace. I came down this incline to meet up with the main road. It was coarse chip, lots of traction, but downhill & off camber to meet the main road which was also downhill. As I became familiar I used to brake fairly heavily to that intersection.

I then began to ask myself, what if I needed to stop faster than I was already braking? What if someone pulled out of a driveway or kid ran across the road? Could I brake harder? So I tried.

Front end lose, tyre went sideways, let off the brake, banged foot on ground & re braked. Made it, but wouldn’t want to ask to get off that a 2nd time. Learnt that what I had felt was the limit was actually the limit (bearing in mind I had a calibrated sense from practising braking). What I learnt was actually I was travelling too fast if something out of the norm occurred.

I later tried the same thing downhill (Raroa rd) in the wet. Again the good lord smiled on me again & I didn’t ditch it. Again I was travelling at a safe speed on a wet road – as long as I didn’t need to brake to avoid someone else turning across my path or stopped around a blind corner with someone coming he other way. Learn the feeling of traction from braking practise & believe in it. Ask yourself the question ‘What would happen if? Can you do anything about it?’