PDA

View Full Version : Info on 89 ZXR250A

MrMelon
23rd April 2003, 10:49
Hi,

I'm pretty new to bikes.. just got my license a couple of months ago, and the running/maintenance costs of my car are just getting to be too much, so I'm looking for a first bike to start out on.

I've been offered an 89 zxr250A from a guy from work, for what I think is a pretty decent price. The fairing is a bit scraped up, but he says it's mechanically sound.

What are the differences between the zxr250a/b/c's?

It's done 50,000km's.. he says the following things are wrong with it:

His mech says it needs new plugs and the valve clearances adjusted. (occasionally splutters on a long ride, gets over it eventually). Service schedule says these should be done at 50k.
LHS fork seal will need doing again at some stage, I saw a drip mark in my garage, probably OK unless you want to park it in your lounge.
The battery isn't the best. Goes flat after a week standing.

I'm about 167cm tall, and 70kg.. I've heard these bikes are quite tall. Does anyone around that size have one of these bikes? I don't want it to be too much of a pain in the ass to ride if it's got such a high center of gravity that it'll try to fall over all the time.

Is there anything else about these bikes that commonly goes wrong, or are they a pretty reliable bike for a learner?

cheers.

Coldkiwi
23rd April 2003, 12:27
Gidday,

I'm actually trying to sell my ZXR250A at the moment so I can probably answer some questions (and plug my bike too! haha)

I have no idea about model differences although i THINK the major aesthetic difference between the A and b and c variants was the headlight arrangment went from 2 rounds to 1 large.

I'd be a bit worried about the fork seals. being upside down forks if you get a leak it doesn't take much to get some on the brake discs which ain't such a great thing!

Sealed batteries are about $120 for zxr250's