PDA

View Full Version : Buying older GSXR 250

The Big J
6th August 2006, 20:30
Hi there

First post so hello to everyone. Have been searching a few threads for peoples' thoughts on the GSXR250.

I have limited bike experience - about 4 months riding a Kawasaki 250 GPX RII (1988). Great bike to learn on, could do distance ok, was starting to feel it lacked a bit of power but it felt a good sort of thing to learn about and I could blat around on before stepping it up. However as of 4 weeks ago while watching the rugby my bike 'vanished' into thin air so I either stop riding or get back on the horse by buying something new.

I'm looking at an older bike 1989, reason being that I'm looking to go overseas in 6 months so not much point investing big $$$. Also, would still class myself as a learner in dealing with corners/rain (but am getting there).

Am hoping for some people's thoughts about the suitability of this bike. Any common problems with age, mechanical issues etc., suitable for riding longer distances?.

I'm sure you get asked these sort of questions by newbies all the time so if this rings a bell, just post a link to a previous thread and I'll have a look there. Cheers!

DUBDUB
6th August 2006, 21:33
I got a 88 gsxr250 off trademe for $600 bout a month back as a project and it runs sweet as(only has cosmetic problems now due to lack of fairings). No problems with the engine apart from a crappy plug cap.

carver
6th August 2006, 21:37
Hi there

First post so hello to everyone. Have been searching a few threads for peoples' thoughts on the GSXR250.