PDA

View Full Version : SV650S Tail Tidy

hsvboy06
7th August 2006, 21:32
It seems that a common opinion of the SV650S is "nice bike but you have to get rid of that fugly plastic fender on the back". I finally succumbed to this way of thinking, and bought a tail tidy off trademe. It was supposed to be really easy to fit, so I thought that even I would be able to do it. It turns out that I had to pretty much dismantle the whole back of the bike. A little bit of brute force, a slight redrilling of one of the mounting holes in the tail tidy, and about 5 hours later I got it all fitted and put back together. Remarkably I didn't have any bits left over afterwards (apart from the old fender, of course)! This might not seem like a big deal, but since I have no experience messing with bikes in this way, I'm pretty proud of myself.
Anyway, I thought I'd post a couple of pictures (sorry they are pretty poor quality - they're taken with a phone camera):
1. The "before" shot; 2. The dismantled back end; and 3. The final look.
Was it worth it? If nothing else it was a lot of fun, but I think it does look a lot better. What do you think?

limbimtimwim
7th August 2006, 21:34
Very.. err.. Tidy!!

Looks good, never really noticed that standard one was offensive though.

98tls
7th August 2006, 21:36
:first: very nice...heaps better...FWIW have a look at my profile pic..they do a nice one for the SV as well..some like it some dont.

Clivoris
7th August 2006, 21:45
Good skills man.

Sketchy_Racer
7th August 2006, 21:59
much, MUCH nicer :niceone:

Monkeyboy
7th August 2006, 22:28