PDA

View Full Version : Microsoft Access / VBA. Whats that about?

chickenfunkstar
15th August 2006, 18:49
Hi,

I've got a job interview on Friday for a position which would involve the use of Microsoft Access and possibly some VBA programming ability. Currently I have no experience with either. I've had a bit of a poke around on the internet and found out that MS Access involves database management. I understand VBA is what you can use to add functions to programmes?

If anyone could maybe explain either programme a bit more / give me an example i'd be greatful.

Cheers,

CFS

SwanTiger
15th August 2006, 18:54
I was about to start writing everything out when I remembered "Wikipedia".

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microsoft_Access

James Deuce
15th August 2006, 18:56
Access is the database you have when you don't have a database. It's more of a relational spreadsheet.

VBA is a way of using .NET to build applications within the Microsoft framework.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/isv/technology/vba/default.aspx

That has some good resources.

You're a bright guy. Lie, and then go for the OJT approach. It's how the IT world works.

paturoa
15th August 2006, 19:01
Access comes with VB inbuilt and has direct commands to manipulate access objects. This is used to develop Access database applications.

VB is the general programming language that can manipulate all m'soft apps/crap plus a bunch of others. You can create apps that can be compiled and distributed.

From the Access version of VB you can also do the same, but need the Access application.

VB is hard to learn for a few hours, then the penny drops on the heirachy / structure and you'll be away.

jeremysprite
15th August 2006, 19:04