PDA

View Full Version : GSXR 1000 K2 - more of a story than review

Funkyfly
15th June 2004, 16:50
1st real ride on a 1000 K2 (had a TL1000s before this bike)

Well the sun was shining and the road was dry, there was no wind and the back country was beckoning!

Riding to the gas station to fill her up I feel awkward and uncoordinated, like im perched on top of the bike rather than sitting "in" it. This is my first time on a 1000cc 4 cyl.

As i head toward Whanga this feeling doesn’t go away, it makes me uneasy. On the straights fun fun fun, this thing is like a rocket ship, and very stable (havent touched the susp settings yet) however I find myself short shifting all the time, riding up and down the three saddles would have been faster on the ZXR250! I stop at a rest area for a breather, nervous and sore (I think gsxr's were built for midgets) I think to myself "why did I buy this thing", after tossing up whether to head home or carry on to Whanga I decide to carry on, arriving at whanga very sore and tired (mentally)

Conclusion from ride out to whanga - This thing sucks, well I suck really, its uncomfortable, hard on your wrists and when you brake you feel like your going to fly over the top! I cant use any of the power and I don’t like the engine, it feels like it wants to fall over on every corner so Im scared to lean it in.

After a ten minute break allowing my nerves to settle and contemplating the best way to sell the GSXR I hit the road home.

I have always known the ride home is better than the ride out, on any bike, so I was interested to see what it would be like on the way back.