PDA

View Full Version : SJ50 Help

Jono
26th September 2006, 07:51
Hey Guys

Ive been riding my SJ0 for about 2 years with no problems and now its decided not to start at all.

The other day it started as usual and then it cut out after about 100 metres. And not start again even after about 20 mins of attempts. Ive tried again this morning but no luck.

I did notice a few weeks ago that it was idleing a bit too low (almost near stalling), can someone please tell me where the idle adjustment screw is, cant seem to find it and the manual doesnt have it at all. (Pics would be great!)

I think the scooter needs a new spark plug, as its not even turning over even with plenty of kicks! + i know i havnt changed it since ive owned it in the 2 years :roll:

But if it doesnt start after a spark plug change what else could be the problem?

Cheers

bungbung
26th September 2006, 08:20
Two stroke scoots will get hard to start when the plug needs replacing.
A spark plug will cost $5. Change it.

fast135
26th September 2006, 10:45
Has the scooter ever been serviced since you have owned it?
if not, (and im not sure of that model) you could of snapped the oil belt. no oil will make the scoot stop after 100 meters. and stop it from going again.

Jono
26th September 2006, 12:19
I gave it one more attempt just before i left home and im quite sure its due for a new spark plug. I kicked it and it started and putted for a bit then when i revved it, it cut out.

Ill buy a new spark plug on the way home.

Is the best spark plug a BPR6H or 7? The higher the number the more heat it can handle right? My poor scooters on full throttle the whole time! Should i get the higher number?

Thankz

blitz
26th September 2006, 17:59
I just stuck to the original one on my old SJ50.

Jono
26th September 2006, 19:54
Ok, i replaced the spark plug but she aint kick startn again.

It went for a little bit then stopped again.