PDA

View Full Version : NC30 chain adjustment?

gamgee
11th October 2006, 15:19
Hey, just wondering, as I've put new chain and sprockets on my nc30, how do I adjust the chain, I've never done one like this before, I found some vague instructions and was hoping someone could elaborate, apparently, I loosen bolt A, and then there is a bolt somewhere where B is pointing that adjusts the slack? I need to loosen it right off before I cut some links out of the chain, so I know how many links to take out, any help would be much appreciated!

sAsLEX
11th October 2006, 15:23
Yip loosed A about a 17mm I think

The thing pointed to by B is what adjusts the eccentricity of the hub if you rotate that clockwise it should loosen, you should do this with a c spanner that should be in your tool kit in the bike, mine had every thing else, so a hammer and a drift(srewdriver?) can be used to gently tap on the tabs of B to rotate it, but thats a rangi way of doing it!

Edit: B looks like the pic, kinda

gamgee
11th October 2006, 15:26
damn it yeah I thought there was some stupid tool I needed, fucken hondas, I'll have to do it rangi style :( cause those c spanners are like $70

gamgee
11th October 2006, 15:28
haha, cheers for the pic, that will help :2thumbsup

limbimtimwim
11th October 2006, 16:10
You want Honda part number 89201-MR8-000 . Give www.econohonda.co.nz a call. I hope it won't cost $70, that's arse.

Tyga also make a copy which should do the job, which including shipping won't be NZD$70.

http://tyga-performance.com/site/index.php?cPath=71_25&osCsid=6f3b470097275f23bf3cc4ea525e1ea9

That link will probably break, so on the left click on 'parts by product' and the 'tyga tools'. Enjoy :)

limbimtimwim
11th October 2006, 16:14
I'll have to do it rangi styleScrewdriver and hammer. But BE GENTLE because I think it is made out of aluminium.