PDA

View Full Version : i R 733t h4x0r n0oB!!!11!! :P

Mr Skid
8th July 2004, 03:18
Hey all
I've been lurking on this fine piece of the superinformationinterweb for far too long, and thought I'd best be polite and say hello..

I'm a definite newbie to motorbikes, the first time I ever rode a motorbike was for my basic handling skills cert (assuming a GN125 counts as a motorbike :P ), though I've been thrashing my wantabe supermotard mountain bike through Auckland's traffic for the last 2 years or so, learning the benefits of covering one's front brake and the risks of hazard fixation..

the time has now come to purchase my first bike, after selling my first car to fund it. Possibilities include a Honda CBR250R and Suzuki GSF250 amongst others..

I've done some of the pre-requisite reading required (A Twist of the Wrist, Proficient Motorcycling, The Biker's Bible etc) but have a question about buying a bike..

I'm considering buying through a dealer for a bike, which prompts the question of how to know if a bike they are selling is in decent nick mechanically?

I'm aware you can get a bike shop to do a pre-purchase inspection if your buying privately, but what if your buying from a shop? Can I have some faith in the condition of the bikes a shop is selling, or is the same story as for used car yards?

What do you peeps think on this one?

Thanks!

6Chris6
8th July 2004, 06:34
Yes, i believe you can have some faith when buying from a dealer, unless maybe it's a trade-in and they haven't touched it.
I've spoken to my local bike shop about this and they have no problem checking out a bike from another shop.
And better safe than sorry eh.
P.S. Welcome to the site bud :spudbooge
P.P.S. Get that insomnia sorted first!!

Firefight
8th July 2004, 06:50
Gidday , Pap, welcome to the site, you picked the write place for good info,
plenty here who will give you good advice, sadly Ia'm not one of them, I'll leave it to all the techno to help you..

F/F

James Deuce