PDA

View Full Version : need some answers, anyone can help?

Enigma
19th May 2003, 17:29
I'm a newb with bikes when it comes to practical stuff and I'd like to ask You guys few questions...
>how does it go with insurance, how high is it at the beggining?
>up to what engine capacity I can go when getting learners/restricted?
>how much money to spend do You suggest for my first bike? (preferably Honda)
>and generally how does it look here in NZ for bikers? police, ppl, how do they act? (I'm from Europe so... You know)

thanx for any help :)

and sorry that I ask so "formally", haven't got much time at the moment

Gixxer
19th May 2003, 17:39
Up to 250cc for learners.

around $3000 for a 250cc sports bike, depends on what you get and who you get it from. not sure on other types.

insurance depends on who you go with, i went with protecta on my 250 some years back and I paid around $900 for the year, then went with State and i pay around $400 on my 750cc

cops are not too bad, i think you may want to check out some of the threads on this as everyone as a different opinion on this, unless you r breaking the rules they do not hassel you too much.

hope this helps a bit.

festus
19th May 2003, 17:46
Hey dude!,

Insurance sucks, but is a necessary evil.

Obviously cc rating and bike value play a big part in the equation. Pays to get hold of a good insurance broker, or do some shopping around yourself.  I think I'm with Protecta, or is it Swann?, can't bloody remember actually, how embarassing!. But one of them I found had the best deal at the time.

Learners start at 250cc. There is a huge array of bikes in this category. Again dude shop around. You'll find a lot of good deals around if you look. Bike Trader would be a good start.

To get a good idea of what the police etc are like, read some of the other threads. There's plenty to get you started there.

Good luck!.

Festus

festus
19th May 2003, 17:48
Gixxer you beat me to the punch!.

Enigma
19th May 2003, 20:14