PDA

View Full Version : Fork oil-change tools

Mole_C
7th November 2006, 17:13
Well for the last few days ive been taking my bike apart and realising i don't have the tools i need so been out and about buying bits and pieces and i have finally managed to get the forks off. I now realise that i don't have the tools i need for the fork oil change and either have to buy some, make do with another tool or take them into the shop. I would really like to learn to do it myself so either buying or making do would be best. Keeping in mind im a poor student do you guys have any ideas on what i could use to substitute for the tools needed or where to get them and costs?

Fork spring compressor
Fork piston rod puller
Fork oil level gauge

I need those 3. I was thinking i could use a syringe for the oil level gauge but not sure on the other 2.

Any help would be great

Jonny Rotten
7th November 2006, 17:33
geezz what are you doin...changing the oil or changing the seals?

just pour the old oil out of the forks and pour some new shit in.....make sure you get the right amount.....

and some bikes you can use transmition fluid ....or so im told

Jonny Rotten
7th November 2006, 17:35
but i dont know what im talking about...best ask a macaninc

TLDV8
7th November 2006, 18:03
It depends if it is a cartridge fork which you need to bleed...The level gauge can be as simple as a wooden dowel with the height marked off...Removing excess oil can be as ghetto as putting a tube into the oil and putting your finger over the end then removing the tube...A bleeder tool can be a suitable nut to fit the damper rod thread with a tube attached so the cartridge can be pumped to expel any air...A spring compressor can be a suitable piece of pipe with handles and two bolts to fit into the preload spacer (Take a look on the Traxxion suspension site for idea's)....
I am not sure about the differences between USD and RWU cartridge forks.