PDA

View Full Version : Newbie in Trouble

dangerman
14th July 2004, 12:23
Hi Everyone

This is my first attempt, so please excuse any stuff ups

Can any one advise how to remove scuff marks from plastic panels
I have just bought a new Yamy Xt 600 and have already put a couple of minor scuff marks on the plastic panel behind the seat while getting my leg over

And how do I get rid of the L-plate rider icon ??

merv
14th July 2004, 13:03
Scuffs in plastic panels that are unpainted are just about impossible to rid forever, but any sort of visor cleaner like Slipstreamer or Plexus is about as good as you will get. You can try polish like Simonz Liquid Diamond too and give it a good rub and then clean it with the plastic cleaner afterwards.

riffer
14th July 2004, 13:23
How do I get rid of the L-plate rider icon ??
It's easy dangerman. Just keep posting! :niceone:

dangerman
14th July 2004, 16:29
thanks merv
I'll let you know how I get on

regards
Dangerman

Ms Piggy
14th July 2004, 16:36
Welcome Dangerman! Lotsa good people round here & good to see another mainlander :niceone: So tell us a bit more about you...or maybe you have and I'm too slack to have noticed!

moko
14th July 2004, 17:16
A mate did the same thing to my XT when I gave him a lift once,could have brained the stupid bastard,not a lot you can do about it really.I loved that bike,only bummer was the stupid plastic bits that screw onto the side of the tank to make it look as if it`s water-cooled,pointless,crap and both mine shook apart within the warranty period.My dealer`s got a new TT600 for sale for the same price as i paid for the XT 2 years ago,I`m torn,if I could afford to buy it and keep the Fazer I would.Bit drastic i know but your best bet is to get yourself a new tailpiece but dont put it on until you`ve got used to the bike.They`re high off the ground and when I first got mine I swung my leg over and booted the tank of some poor sod`s Aprilia 1000,pretty quick getaway after that one.

Motu