PDA

View Full Version : Working in the bike industry

rok-the-boat
29th January 2007, 12:15
I just quit my job as a teacher and am weighing up my options. What would it take for me to become a bike mechanic? As I understand, I would have to find a job, then do some kind of apprenticeship (I did an engineering related one years ago). I am also considering boats, rather than bikes. How does it all work?

Basically, I am no expert but have 'fiddled' with a lot of bikes over the years and can put anything together that I take apart.
And, what kind of salary do mechanics get? Am I wasting my time?

Motu
29th January 2007, 12:36
You'll be better paid and appreciated as a teacher,and have a lot more holidays.Then you'll get a thread all about what a useless mechanic you are by people who can't fix their own bike.There are few less thankful professions than a tradesman.

SixPackBack
29th January 2007, 12:44
Completing an apprenticeship will be the beginning of your learning experience. Competent Tradespeople require years of 'hands on' to be truly useful.

rider 07
29th January 2007, 13:50
Ive been doing a lot of looking into it as well. weltec offers a 2 year course in motorcycle mechanics. Ive seen a few jobs advertised and salary varies from $20,000 to $40,000 a year

Brian d marge
29th January 2007, 13:57
Boats would be a better option , as there is big money there ... bikes while fun wont feed the family

Also after a few years ,,changing tyres aint all its cracked up to be ... Set your sights higher ...do the MC course then go into Engineering ,, the experience comes from doing ,,so spend a little money on doing it ( buy a MX bike ora small rr bike , learn about it inside and out )

Design get parts made , stuff them up , do it again ,,learn ,,,

Hang on all that for 40 k ,,stuff that ...

Stephen