PDA

View Full Version : Trail ride on adventure bike

CBobR
11th February 2007, 14:31
My middle name being "Inappropriate", I thought I'd go on the Okaihau Big Rock charity trail bike ride on my adventure bike (Dakar, TKC80s)

It was fun, I'm a novice but the bike did okay the first lap, the bike and I did okay on he first half of the second lap, then it started raining. The clay hill near the end had me beaten after the rain and I needed a /lot/ of help to get up
(cheers all those that helped me push). I was less ashamed of my effort when the hill became a traffic jam of trail bikes struggling for traction.

The third lap (I'm a slow learner :o ) was tough as I had lost a lot of confidence after the rain, the other bike I saw with a no. plate, a TTR600 was also having a tricky time with the wet (less so than me).
A few people commented that I probably would have had a much easier time if it had stayed dry.
*edit* I should mention that I stuck to the "novice" trail only, I was told that the "intermediate" stuff may have been passible on my bike with a good rider, but the "expert" stuff would have taken an awesome rider to get through easily.

Sorry no good photos, just my bike (indicator had a bad time), and the guys I rode with Nigel on the KLX300R and Gavin on the Husqvarna TE450.

NordieBoy
11th February 2007, 15:10
:Punk: Good on 'ya.

I'm tempted to take the DR to one of the local "Laid Back" Trail Rides this year instead of the XR250.

Henk
11th February 2007, 18:46
I've done a bit of easy woodhill trail riding and an even smaller amout of super easy riverhead stuff on my TTR600. It can be done but they are heavy bikes in those situations.
Hats off to you for taking the Dakar.

Crisis management
12th February 2007, 08:25
Thanks for the write up, I am similarily a n00b at off road and have been to scared to venture out to trail rides on my own yet......shocking really at my age!