PDA

View Full Version : How long was it until your were in an accident?

mark247
9th March 2007, 09:11
I am just wondering, when you first started riding on the road, how long did it take for you to come off for the first time?

Skunk
9th March 2007, 09:16
Four weeks.
Next time was a year later. I was hit.
Next time was a year later. Again, I was hit.
Then again about 12 years later. But that was off road.

ceebie13
9th March 2007, 09:18
I am just wonder, why when you first started riding on the road, how long did it take for you the come off?

er.... if I understand you correctly, I started riding when I was 16 and had a serious whoopsie about three years later when I tee-boned a Morris Minor and went for a short fly. No bones broken amazingly. I waited another ten or more years before attempting to get my bike under a London cab! That would have made me about 29, so I've now gone another 26 years without any serious "offs".

Shit! I hope I'm not tempting fate.

Mr Merde
9th March 2007, 09:23
Didnt come off but was injured.

One of those great yank tanks with the rear wings pulled out in front of me perpendicular to the traffic flow, from a petrol station.

I served and caught the wing on my ribs and the bumper on my shin.

Wobbled up over the pavement and finished up on the steps of the Papakura Courthouse.

Woman driving couldnt see if the road was clear so she just pulled out anyway.

Still remember the old traffic police talking me out of pressing charges even though to this day my shinbone has a dent in it. Turned out she was engaged to one of them.

I was young (15) and thought that the police knew best, at the time.

Steam
9th March 2007, 09:24
Three months. But I was stupid, it was my fault, part of the learning process I suppose. I could have avoided it if I had read and practised like Buckbuck.

Jimmy B
9th March 2007, 09:28
First time within 2 weeks, both at fault although random U turn by the cage I slid into didnt help.