PDA

View Full Version : New Rider, New Member!

N3wbbik3r
24th August 2004, 20:20
Hi, Im finally looking at getting a bike licence. I have some experience with dirt bikes. Ive had a DR250, a KX 250 and a modified KDX 220. I did a reasonalbe amount of trail riding etc. But I have had very little experience on the road. First question is what is the Basic handling skills test? , do I need a bike to do the test? Do I need to practise before I do the test? (Or is it a basic setup just to make sure your capable of riding and know the basics?) My next question where do I sit the Basic handling skillls test, (Im in Auckland) The final question is what bike do I get? This one really has me stumped. I wish to spend 3-4k. The bike is to be used purely for pleasure, I intend to trade up at a later date (when Im well and trully comfortable) to a 400 - 600 cc bike. (hmmmmmmmm R6) :yeah: But do I get a nice 250 that will be enjoyable for a reasonable amount of time, or buy a cheapy smaller bike and move on as quick as possible. Im leaning more towards a nice 250 as I am in no rush, and keen to build up skills and convidence before moving on. (Not keen on strapping myself on demon machine and scarying the crap out of myself.) My preference is for a naked 250, along the lines of a Suze Bandit or Honda VTR, or a Hornet or Balius. Or is it worth looking at a Yammy FZR or CBR. Im concerned the cbr or Fzr may be more thrashed and possibly not the most ideal bike for learning the art of road riding. I dont wish to go down the track of a Gn250 etc as I feel in 3 months time I will want to move on. Any suggestions would be great. The age group Im in is 30ish, so Im not some young 16 yr old nutter who wants to go balls out all the time. :ride:

Two Smoker
24th August 2004, 20:29
VTR sounds bloody good to me :niceone: not extremely powerful (28hp at the rear wheel i think???) but quick enough to have fun on, plus the good old bin wont do as much damage :niceone: