PDA

View Full Version : Boots and helmet??

Little Miss Trouble
17th April 2007, 07:54
As a newbie I've been asking everyone I come accross all sorts of questions, sorry to the guy I kinda ambushed in the supermarket the other day!
One of the opinions I've heard a few times is, if you cant afford the best of everything, go higher quality in your boots and helmet, obviously jacket and pants need to of reasonable quality to protect you but that you can put up with them not being quite as good.
What do you all think of that theory? Can anyone suggest what I should be after?
Grant at Spectrum here on the North Shore was going to set me up with an HJC helmet(XS), Spool jacket and pants, boots we hadn't gotten to yet, I take about a 42 i think (tried on some really comfy Dainese boots at Motomail)

Devil
17th April 2007, 08:19
To start with, if you can spread the money around so you have everything (Helmet, jacket, pants, boots, gloves) you'll be ok.
Along the way when you can afford it, upgrade your gear. Wont take too long before you've collected some good stuff.

PS: What part of the shore are you on? If you need any help with picking out gear or the bike/learning give me a yell. Am in Glenfield.

NZsarge
17th April 2007, 08:36
To start with, if you can spread the money around so you have everything (Helmet, jacket, pants, boots, gloves) you'll be ok.
Along the way when you can afford it, upgrade your gear. Wont take too long before you've collected some good stuff.

PS: What part of the shore are you on? If you need any help with picking out gear or the bike/learning give me a yell. Am in Glenfield.
Yeah this sounds pretty fair I reckon.... when you get around to upgrading, look at a top of the line helmet first, may i suggest Arai or Shoei is a good place to start. It's all budget dependant ofcourse but i've always felt spending money on a good helmet is never a waste of money. You can get into Arai/Shoei's for around $650-750ish.

dnos
17th April 2007, 08:46