PDA

View Full Version : One Wheeled Weekend Fun

dss3
20th September 2004, 14:36
Totally stoked!!

Did my first accidental stoppie a couple of weeks back and have been thinking about practising them since. So when a Whangamata ride fell through on saturday I decided to grab the camera and get practising!

At first I was trying to do them BMX styles; squeezing my legs together to 'lift' up the bike. Then I discovered that I just needed to brake harder.

From there it was just practise and confidence, now after a day I can comfortably do what I consider to be a "decent" stoppie.

I'm stoked cause when I started riding 3 years ago I thought i'd never be able to wheelie/stoppie like you see other guys doing, guess with time and practise you actually improve more than you'd think you could!

Can anyone tell me there experience in learning to change gear from 1st-2nd on one wheel? Or how to wheelie standing up?

Here's a pic, quality is shit as they are frames from my camera which I set up on a pole (don't want anyone filming you when your practising aye?!!)

BTW: I had leathers on under my clothes (they're very 'squidish' and need to hidden) and also practise runs were done in Uni carpark/quite Ruakura straights.

GOTTA LUV BIKING :niceone: :niceone: :niceone:

DarkNinja
20th September 2004, 14:45
NICE ONE,
I have been riding for about 5 months and havent been able to do a stoppie, thats why im looking at the brakes in confusion, they are good, just not good for tricks :P
Unfortunatly my bike aint good for wheelies its too front heavy, ive done it a couple times before, but it just doesnt lift like other bikes.
Good work anyway, i spose theres hope for us all :D

Slingshot
20th September 2004, 14:53
I did my first wheelie yesterday. It was on a slight incline, I started by rolling at 5-10kmph, revved to 4K then dropped the clutch. Bike lurched a bit then just popped up.