PDA

View Full Version : New guy ~ Canadian (Island_Moose)

Island_Moose
25th July 2007, 04:50
Hello all,

I'm arriving in Auckland in 2 weeks from Canada. I'm in civil engineering and I have a 3 year visa.

I've been riding for about 18 years, owned many bikes, most recently a Honda CBR954RR, Suzuki SV1000S, Suzuki DL1000, Harley Davidson Dyna Lowrider, Kawasaki 750 Vulcan, Honda VT500F, Suzuki DR750S, Yamaha Venture, Yamaha RZ500 and a Suzuki Bandit 600.

I sold everything in preparation for immigrating, but I'm hoping to get a bike quickly on arriving in Auckland. Nothing in mind yet, it would be interesting to look at some of the makes and models you get in NZ that aren't available in Canada (we don't get Cagiva, MZ, or several of the models from the big 4). I have been looking seriously at slowing down from the big litre bikes and getting something to tour the country with, like a Triumph Scrambler or T100. I'm getting too old to back the rear tire into corners at 160kph.

I'm hoping this forum will help me find a bike, as well as help me find the best deal on gear etc (the only thing I'm bringing from my gear are my Oxtar boots (best I've ever owned).

In any case, hope to get in on some rides, and get to know some riders in NZ.

Cheers,

Island Moose (John)

formerly - Vancouver Island Canada

dangerous
25th July 2007, 05:48
Auckland? what the hell for? :Punk: welcome man, ya wont have any troubles finding a bike and getting out for a ride, but ya wont realy know NZ roads till ya tour down here :scooter:

SARGE
25th July 2007, 06:28
koo-OOO-KOOO-KOOO-OO-KOO-KOO-KOOOOOOO

take off eh?

dude ... bring us some Molson eh?.. ( seriously .. cant get it here for love nor money)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kh4k3L0WrEE

Island_Moose
25th July 2007, 08:18
Molson?...there's got to be better beer in NZ? I remember Australia having some good ones when I visited in 2003.

chanceyy
25th July 2007, 08:39