PDA

View Full Version : 2003 Hyosung Comet 250

yobbosayyo
28th September 2004, 03:15
I started riding bikes here in Seoul, and the comet is my third bike, but my first 250 after a couple of 125cc 4 strokes.

I like the comet at lot, but as I mentioned above I don't have a lot to compare it to.

My bike is unmodified. I've thought about a sports exhaust but I don't think it would do much unless I played around with the carbs, so I haven't bothered. Mine just has the single front disk too, but its 300mm or so and it has a twin piston caliper so the bike still stops alright.
It redlines at 11000 and cruises at 100kph at 6000rpm. Decent power from 4000 to 8000. Holding on to 9500 is worthwhile but the last 1500rpm are a bit pointless.
17 litre tank so it's got a decent range.

Over here Comet 250s are pretty cheap. about NZ$4000, and a bit more for the version with the twin front disks (Comet 250 S). The 650 is about NZ$7300.

Good things:

Nice engine. It's really smooth and torquey, starts first pop every time, and you can ride off immediately. doesn't seem to need the choke either

Good Styling: From most angles I reckon the bike looks really great. I'm not to sure about from the front quarter view though. It really needs a fairing to fill up that gap between forks and frame I reckon, but I think that about lots of naked bikes

Good suspension: meaty 41mm upsidedown forks in front (I've never bottomed them out, maybe a tad on the firm side for me) and a seemingly decent monoshock on the back. I do a lot of two-up riding and I've never bottomed that out either.

Riding position: I'm almost 6'4" and I'm comfortable on the bike. The Comet is full-size so that suits me. The seat's a bit hard though.

Not so good things:

Gearbox: it took a while to get used to because the 1-2 change up won't happen unless the revs are high enough. No worries now though, and it's smooth-as if you change at 4000 or above.