PDA

View Full Version : Newbie on a Bandit?

hm6
2nd August 2007, 23:50
Hi there,
This is my first time on here -though I've been tryin' to suss it out for a while - and it looks like a lot of people have good info to give, so would appreciate any help offered :-)

I've decided after years of fluffing about, I really want a motorbike. Been searching for about 3-4 weeks on trade-me and other 2nd hand places trying to get an idea of what I'm after in a bike. Was thinking the Gn250 for a while, but I'm wanting to travel home (Wgtn - Waihi) every so often, so I decided this bike wouldn't cut it.

I've had some experience when I was a kid riding round in paddocks, but I'm looking to brush on my skills -ie. remember what it's like to ride a bike- and go for my license in the next few weeks...but...I've just been offered a 1990 Bandit 250 for 2 grand.

I have a few q's:
Is this a wicked price?? The lady has had it for 5 years, just rides it round in summer, but is now wanting to flick it off.
I haven't actually had a chance to sit on a Bandit yet, but I'm 163 cms - about 5'3-5'4 and weight 57kg.
Do you think I'll be able to reach the ground, and/or handle this bike? I have known another learner chick - tho quite a bit taller- and she handles it.

Apparently its a 6-speed, 16 valve slingshot motor? - could any1 enlighten me on what this means? I'm going with a biker mate to sit on some bikes on Saturday, but just wanted any other ideas/info.

Any help much appreciated! Ta
Hannah

EJK
3rd August 2007, 00:08
Hmm... I dont know about the condition of the bike but I think its quite a nice deal. If the clock reads less than 40-50,000km, then its a bargain... I think....

163cm? I think you will easily reach down to the ground on your heel.
16 valve? wow... that must have better power than my 225cc bike.

I think....

P.S. WELCOME to the motorcycling world! We all welcomes you :):):):)

skelstar
3rd August 2007, 09:02