PDA

View Full Version : Where to start?

Drea
18th August 2007, 15:49
Hi everyone!

Hoping you can give me some advice and point me in the right direction..

I became bike mad after photographing and co-authoring the book about the flying kiwi team when they broke the land speed record a while back. A total novice I've only ever been the passenger, and why wait for a guy to come along with a bike..I want my own!

So here's my predicament, I have no bike and no one to teach me to ride, but I've got all the guts, determination and passion to do it - any ideas??

Drea

twinkle
18th August 2007, 16:02
Start by getting your riding certificate, then your learners license :yes:

Your local bike shop should be able to point you in the direction of someone you can do your riding certificate with (they teach you to ride a little bit at the same time... well enough to pass the certificate test anyway).

xwhatsit
18th August 2007, 16:03
More than a few members down in Christchurch, I'm sure somebody would be delighted to give you a go around a carpark. Once you get your own bike and you're up and running, all over the country we have mentors and beginner rides to help you build up confidence.

At any rate -- welcome :), there's heaps of great people to help you around here who'll teach you a lot. I know I've learned bucket-loads.

LardEmbargo
18th August 2007, 16:23
hiya - yeah like twinkle said. See if you can find out if there's someone local who runs the Basic Handling Skills thing. Up here in wellington you can do a full day - the morning's for total beginners and gets you a bit familiar with riding round in a carpark, and then the afternoon you practise the 6 (I think) things you need to demonstrate you can do to get a Basic Handling Skills certificate and take the test with the instructor. There's probably something similar near you.

Then wander down to LTNZ with your certificate and sit the scratchy test to get a learners licence.