PDA

View Full Version : Newbie looking into gear...

hm6
28th August 2007, 22:11
Hi there,
I'm just getting into looking around for gear in Wellington, and I wanted some advice from other ladies about what gear you use? I've just got a bike - picking up in 4 weeks from up north - & I'm not looking so much at commuting, but more going on trips...

The quotes I've got from different places range between $750 to $1500-is this quite on the cheap side/reasonable? I've been liking what I see with the Cordura, but can anyone give me a bit more advice on this compared to leather? or Kevlar?

The RevIt stuff looked quite good. At the mo, I'd probably splash out on the jacket in RevIt because it was so damn comfortable (and quite styley), and being able to zip out the inners and having air vents seem like big pluses to me.
Thought I'd try and save a bit on pants (but get ones with armour), and look for upgrading in summer. I've just got some cheap boots - RJays - with the thought of buying some more solid ones a bit later.

I have a pretty small head - are there any brands in particular that suit smaller heads? - at one place I was recommended getting a kids helmet (!).

Any advice much appreciated. Thanks :-)
Hannah

Nasty
29th August 2007, 06:58
Hey Hannah ....

Gear is the thing that will help to reduce the amount of injury you have when it comes to an accident .. it will also protect you from the wind and cold .. and in Wellington we got a lot of both of those.