PDA

View Full Version : 10 things I have learned in the past 5 days.

Gubb
19th September 2007, 17:55
I know that i'm a newbie, and I tossed up with putting this in the newbie thread, but I decided otherwise.

Completely new into the world of two wheels, I completed the Basic Handling Skills Test 2 weeks ago with Andrew at RoadSafe. Sensational guy, and taught me everything that I currently know about Motorbikes, which starting from nothing, is a huge improvement.

I purchased my baby (GT250R) on Saturday, and have been on a steep, and fun learning curve ever since. The guys at TSS in Lower Hutt were phenomenally helpful, and their advice was well and truly above what I recieved at the other 4 stores that I visited, and numerous people that I spoke to. Spent heaps on gear, because the last thing that I want to be thinking after I crash is "I wish I spent more money on decent gear".

Anywho, the things that I have learned on the past 5 days:
1. Leaning in the corners is not the scariest thing in the world, but one of the most exciting.
2. Practicing every day is the only way to improve.
3. I get some cool looks from the ladies. (Albeit, non-biker chicks that can't recognize a 250!)
4. Always have a positive throttle.
5. Lane-splitting is fantastic fun, almost enough to make me go back to a traffic pile up, and do it all over again to laugh at the look on peoples faces as I cruise past.
6. Tailgating drivers in cars are complete wankers.
7. The motorcycle community is amazingly supportive, any questions that I may have, or problems, there are always a big group of people that will offer to help you, as they all seem to remember what it was like to be a learner.
8. Most Harley riders only wave to other Harley riders, and nobody waves to scooters.
9. My friends think I am riding a two-wheeled death machine. they'll eventually come around.
10. This is the best decision I have made in a very long time, and I hope that I will be enjoying it for a very long time.