PDA

View Full Version : Evening Rides

2_SL0
19th October 2004, 19:27
Well as the total newb I take any opportunity I can find to go for a ride. So I potter down the drive and off I go. I live in the country so its all open roads. From a newbs point of view this has a bonus and a downfall. Bonus being in general it is quiet. The downfall, "The preasure you feel from the traffic behind you to go faster" I imagine for most of you this feeling has long gone as you all been riding for a while. The wing mirrors how often does everyone use them?
I cant seem to see a hell of alot out of mine, is that normal? What sort of speeds does everyone start tucking themselves down close to the tank. I havent bothered yet, but then I barely touched 100kmh, lololol. Any way on my loverly journey around the Hunua district I mange to round a sweeping bend to find a cat in the middle of the road. This is not the best thing for a newb to run into. I get round it. About three corners latter I find A BLOODY cow on the road. I start thinking whats next a, the entire Auckland zoo. Well I make my way to the Hunua falls and take a nice breather. Next question I understand the basics of where to sit in my lane. , I.E behind roughly the right hand wheel of the car in front, or in my case the stream of traffic I am leading home safely. When in the really windy roads of NZ wher do you guys sit thru the corners? I tend to move to the inside of the lane. Aprt from my obvious lack of speed I am having a great time pottering along in the country. :spudbooge

Midnight 82
19th October 2004, 19:37
:innocent: Use my mirrors every 30secs or so its not just the oncoming cars you need to worried about. Speed is not the reason I ride its the freedom my friend. Just remeber ride to your ablitie not to the pressure of others you will live longer that way. As for tucking onto your tank not on my bike wrong kind of bike for that. Well cheers nice yaking with you take care out there and be seen :bye:

dveus