PDA

View Full Version : Jetting carbs

dirtybomb
27th November 2007, 21:27
Anyone have know how when it comes to re-jetting/tuning float carbs?

I want to stop my engine from four-stroking at WOT.

JimO
28th November 2007, 14:12
whats four-stroking at WOT

dirtybomb
28th November 2007, 14:52
Thats great, thanks heaps!

Aero165
28th November 2007, 16:43
You could buy a B1 rep. :P Learning to ride is for pussies. Haha:whistle:

Gadgit
28th November 2007, 16:49
Hay DB
The daytona is an easy bike to jet as you can get a adjustable main jet for them but the B1 and other quicker bikes are a bit harder I have a set of jets for the 14 to 19mm rep carbs.... I spent most of last weekend at Mt Welly jetting my little duke .... 1 up test ride 2 down test ride lol

MisterD
29th November 2007, 07:02
4-stroking is a sign of running too rich. Do your carbs have adjustable needles or just different jets?

Katman
29th November 2007, 09:07
So what is "four stroking"? In 25 years as a mechanic I've never heard the words used in this context.

Gadgit
29th November 2007, 18:45
Hay MisterD
The daytona carb runs a 13mm piston type carb with a 4 slot adjustable main needle but you can get an adjustable main jet also as an upgrade. The higher HP engines run a 17mm-19mm piston type carb with adjustable main needle or a 14mm slider type carb both carbs have adjustable low jets but interchangable main jets.

xwhatsit
29th November 2007, 18:53
So what is "four stroking"? In 25 years as a mechanic I've never heard the words used in this context.