PDA

View Full Version : Shall I get the Honda CB900 or...

Cache Wraith
11th January 2008, 18:09
I'm looking at getting rid of the 250 and trading up to the CB900. I took one out for a test today and it meets my criteria in many respects. Naked, good all rounder, plenty of useable power and performs well both in the city and open road and is reliable (I'm a useless mechanic). I really like the Hornet, but I've got a few reservations before I park a new black one in my garage.

1. The Hornet is being discontinued, what's going to happen to their value. Crystal ball anyone?
2. The new CB1000 is a wicked looking machine, anyone know if it's destined for NZ. This would be my first choice were it available and within cooee of the current Hornet's price.
3. Albeit it's generally a very well reviewed machine (the unsung hero), the Hornet didn't totally light my fire when I took it for a test drive. As I said above it meets most criteria but I don't think they stand out from the crowd, like say a Buell does. Strangely the bike seemed to disappear from under me when I was riding it, whereas riding on the Hyobag, you know your on a Hyobag. It was really weird. I've seen what Kendog and Skelstar have done with their Hornets and I was impressed, but I'm not the sort to do much in the way of mods. Calling all CB900 owners, your thoughts on that one.

Hey thanks for your opinions, I know the stock answer is test ride a variety of bikes and I will probably do that, but something in me really likes the Hornet, and another part of me is wishing for something a little more unique.

gijoe1313
11th January 2008, 18:15
:corn::corn::corn: I be getting one myself, but unlike you I have no reservations about getting one! :lol:

But definitely keen to see what others say as well! :woohoo:

Go the Hornet!

Trudes
11th January 2008, 18:22