PDA

View Full Version : Increasing engine power/performance?

SuperDave
17th November 2004, 12:41
I'm new to this and was wondering if those who were more knowledgable could help me out. I have come to the understanding that there isn't much more I can do to increase the HP of my FXR150, well, I've been told that spending a couple of grand will gain me about an extra 6HP but there isn't much point in that.

So, I was wondering if there are any set rules as such as to what bikes can have their factory performance ratings increased? I mean, what factors go into wether they can or cannot, such as engine displacement etc. I was also wondering for the 250cc and under if 2 strokes accept performance upgrades more readily and effectively than say 4 strokes 250cc and under?

FlyingDutchMan
17th November 2004, 13:30
There is an interesting site you should read about turboing engines. Especially read the bit about "Pushing it too far". http://www.sdsefi.com/tech.html

There have been numerous attempts at getting more power out of 4 stroke 250cc engines, but the only one I heard of made 92hp (up from 45hp), but only lasted 50km or so. BIG waste of money IMHO.

Warren
17th November 2004, 13:50
I generally trust the manufacturer. They try to get the most power out of the engine while keeping it reliable and affordable.

Coldkiwi
18th November 2004, 13:04
I generally trust the manufacturer. They try to get the most power out of the engine while keeping it reliable and affordable.

that depends very much on the focus of the bike.

Hayabusa engines for example happen to be ripe for turbocharging because they're not highly stressed.. despite being pretty powerful to start with and even then not a bad price.

FXR's on the other hand have almost certainly been developed with cost at the forefront of the design criteria and I would think have got very little potential to unleash more horses out of them without rooting them.