PDA

View Full Version : Riding to music

jcupit69
16th February 2008, 22:52
Just wondering how many other riders ride with music on, and what other riders think about it?

Personally ever since i started riding iv always listened to a cd player or mp3 or something, and most of the people iv riden with are the same. I figure on my bike i cant here much over the engine and wind so it doesnt make much difference??? Although sometimes i like to jus take out my music and here that 2stroke scream :D Some cage drivers have there music up so loud i can still here more than them anyway.

Also wondering if anyone knows if there is a law around this??? I'v never had a policeman say anything, but wondered if anyones ever been pulled over for it or anything???

Wiki Drifter
16th February 2008, 23:03
Plug in the 'ol mp3 around town, but any ride >30 min I wear ear plugs.

beyond
16th February 2008, 23:07
Couple of points.
In a standard helmet at 100kmh the decibel rating is 90-95db. After 15 minutes of that you are suffering hearing loss. To hear music over that combined with that wind noise you are damaging your hearing how much more quickly?

I now ride with ear plugs as every 10kmh over 100kmh has a logarithmic progression on hearing loss. It took several weeks to get used to riding with earplugs and now I feel really weird when riding without them.

It sounds like I'm flogging the living daylights out of my bike without them in.

Having said that, any other noise now bcomes a distraction and when riding I like to concentrate 100%.

Mully
16th February 2008, 23:09
Trouble with it is, anything louder than ~80db for 15 minutes will damage your hearing. Most lids at 100km/h are louder that 80db, so earplugs are a good idea.

Music, not so much. You'd have to have it so loud to hear over the wind noise, you'd be likely to damage your hearing.

UberRhys
16th February 2008, 23:21