PDA

View Full Version : Bucket Parts

Pumba
20th February 2008, 12:06
Ok, since ther seems to be a few guys that seem to have been doing this bucket thing for a while and certinly appear to have a bit of knowledge floating around this forum, I have a question.

As I am fairly new to this (and quickly becoming addicted) and have little to no knowledge I want to know where the hell you guys get all these parts to build these bikes taht are made up of several diferent bikes?

The reason I ask is my bucket I know has a few issues specifically the front end (forks have a small banana in them) that I was thinking of getting some rplacement parts for, and further to this I was thinking of getting another bike for a bucket build project (you cant have to many projects:whistle:), just so I can learn a thing or two and have fun with a grinder, this bike also has frout end issues in the form of bent forks.

So is it just a case of searching the wreakers/Trade Me to find somthing suitable and affordable?

Or

Have you guys that have been doing it for a few years to many just got so many bike parts lying around your place its not funny?

Or

Is there a magical place that I have not yet found that results in bike parts falling from the sky all, in reasoble, straight, afordable condition?

Imput and thoughts apreciated, or if I am just a newb that does not yet have a clue you can ignore the ravings of a madman and move on :done:

bungbung
20th February 2008, 12:14
A bit of all three.

Tardme, your own collection of bits.
The magic place is a bike wrecker

Skunk
20th February 2008, 16:05
'Obtain and test'. That's how I do it. Complete guess at what might work and is about the right size then make it fit (FBH is very handy for this last bit).

Sully60
20th February 2008, 16:38
As I am fairly new to this (and quickly becoming addicted)

Didn't I tell you that would happen?