PDA

View Full Version : Getting a road closed

fizbin
3rd April 2008, 17:44
Ok so after my encounter with a cages bonnet and then the edge of a round about. :argue: I have had a bit of time to reflect on what happened and what i could have done different, eg: could i have done things better, was i going too fast, did the fact that i was not wearing my high vis jacket for the first time since i started riding my bike to work make a difference, that sort of thing.
I have come to the conclusion i could have done a couple of things different
1: target fixation - all i could do was look at the car that had just pulled out in front of me.
2: i should have been wearing my High vis vest (this may not have helped but we will never know)
3: braked harder.
I have also come to conclusion that given the fact that i have only been riding three weeks i think that i did pretty well to bin as lightly as i did.:whistle:

This said... i drive off the motorway and through that intersection every day on my way to work and even in the car i have come close to hitting other cage drivers. it is the most stupid place to put an intersection:mad:. it is at the bottom of an off ramp! you have (if you are lucky) 100m to slow your car/motorbike down from 100km to 50km around a corner before you get to the place where i was hit, and judging by the amount of debris on the road where i was lying after my close inspection of a bonnet this is not an uncommon thing to happen here.

So here is my question then. how does one go about getting the council to change the layout of this road? there are other ways that would only add 1 or 2 mins to a journey that would be a much safer way for cars to get on to the on ramp to the motorway, they would not be crossing traffic coming off the motorway and thus eliminating this hazard.