PDA

View Full Version : Brake Problem

sAsLEX
12th January 2005, 11:28
While away in the South Island over christmas I noticed that when I left my bike sitting for a while (few days ) the brakes would make it hard to move around by hand when I got back on it, but the prob would go away as soon as i started riding and the brakes would still work with one or two fingers.

Now I got to K14's house in NP cause i forgot the key to my folks place! and he was taking apart his callipers to clean them up so I decided I would do the same. One thing noticed in taking them apart is that the previous owner/whoever had not put the dust seals in and the pistons were a little dirty. Cleaned everything with CRC brake cleaner stuff, and then put them back together.

Problem now is that the right hand side calliper aint working proper. The left hand side piston/or larger piston seems to be pushing more than those one the right hand side of the calliper. I initially thought that the pads which were a little worn could be attributing to the problem so got some more of those, prob didn't go away. At this stage I had to go to Auckland so go up here using the front brakes about 4 or 5 times in total.

At the moment the right calliper exert uneven force on the disc, enough to move it to the right a little, and the wear on the disc indicates the right hand side pad is not contacting the disc square because of this.

Requesting any one who knows their brakes and has a decent collection of tools in the Auckland Region have a look in exchange for some amber refreshment.

P.s I have got honda on barrys point road to find me the price for new seals pistons etc

sAsLEX
12th January 2005, 11:37
piston A 51.70 ex japan
piston B 41.75 ex japan
seals 7.30 x4 in stock

so if the prob is just seals as suggested by someone on the UK vfr forum then it wont cost too much, but if they need new pistons its a bit more and will be a few week wait!

FROSTY
12th January 2005, 12:04