PDA

View Full Version : I want to get into bucketeering

kave
1st September 2008, 20:39
What is the best way to get into bucket racing? I have just bought a Kawasaki KH125 with the intention of turning it into a bucket racer, and live 5 minutes away from the Mount Wellington track.

Here is my new set of wheels

Trudes
1st September 2008, 20:40
Looks like the first step there!! Strip everything that you don't need off it, mirrors, indicators, lights, instruments etc, put some good rubber on it, lower the handles bars or put some clip-ons on it and go ride!! Have fun!!! :niceone:

Pumba
1st September 2008, 21:16
Although I am no expert I am learning fast and I will pass on what I know,

With the bike I would start by ripping off any glass (headlight, indicators, mirros, tail light), that top box, wire up the sump plug, fit a catch bottle that all the overflow tubes discharge to, and then fit some teflon blocks (choping boards) to any thing that has the potential to scrape along the track (plastic wine corks work well in the handle bar ends).

As for you, if you already have leathers that zip togeather (even if it is just at the back) all good, a helmet is always helpfull, as is a set of gloves and boots.

For your first meeting you can probally get away without a licence (just get a day licence on the day for a nominal fee), but if you are going to do most of the season you will need to get a proper licence. First you will need to join AMCC (http://www.amcc.co.nz/) or simular afilied club and then get a MNZ licence (http://www.mnz.co.nz/overseas.aspx).

Any more questions just keep asking, someone here should be able to answer them, or the other person to call is John Conner, his phone number is on the AMCC website, he orgaisies everything and can answer more questions than I can.

Apart from that, the next meeting is on Sunday 21 September, with practise on the the Saturday. Look foward to seeing you out there on the track

Pumba
1st September 2008, 21:19