PDA

View Full Version : Yet another migrant with some questions.

no-coast-punk
16th September 2008, 09:26
Hey guys,

I'm potentially another migrant coming from the US.

Between the free fall of the American Peso on the international markets and the fact the rest of the world wants to bomb us, seems like a decent time to leave.

I've done a decent amount of lurking here and it looks like most of the easy questions have been answered so I won't waste anybodies time with the common stuff.

First off: My background is as a mechanic in the exotic car/racing world. I'm a factory trained and certified Mercedes Benz tech. I'm also ASE master certified (probably doesn't mean much over there) and know my way around everything from a Ferrari to an Audi. I built 31 race engines in '07 including a few record breaking numbers. Does anybody on here have an "in" with a facility that may need my skills? I'd like to have a way to provide myself with such luxuries as food and a roof over my head before landing in the country.

Second: I am probably going to need to lease a container to have my tools shipped over. I have a pretty good idea on the cost... just wondering if anybody had any specific recommendations on a freight broker to go through. I'd rather not have to deal with a $100,000 tool box laying on the bottom of the ocean. Might be a bit inconvenient reaching that goal of feeding myself if that happens.