PDA

View Full Version : Anybody own a CJ750?

Flip
22nd September 2008, 11:06
Does anybody out there own a CJ750? I'm thinking about getting one just as a fun combo. I'm an engineer and I have other vintage vehicles im mostly interested in your experiences with the suppliers and LTSA.

xwhatsit
22nd September 2008, 11:45
I've done a little bit of research about it, to see how affordable it might be once I finish uni. The guys at http://www.cj750.net/ seem to have a good reputation on a few different forums, and have exported to NZ before. They're really enthusiastic about the bikes, have regular Chang Jiang rides and sell parts too. They also do LHS sidecar conversions too, and have all the goodies to upgrade the engines (the six volt sidevalve engine is particularly prone to overheating, there's an OHC engine and twelve volt versions as well; the other thing that stops overheating is proper carburettion, they sell new jetted carbs pretty cheaply as an upgrade as well).

I've only seen a couple on Trademe ever.

Flip
22nd September 2008, 13:49
Before I shell out $7.8k to a chineese company I want to know that they are on the straight and level. The LH side car, 12v electrics, modern pistons and better carbs are just necessary these days. I do however like the idear of the side valve motor. However there is still the comfort of actually speaking to some one in NZ who says these folk are good to deal with.

xwhatsit
22nd September 2008, 16:19
Before I shell out $7.8k to a chineese company I want to know that they are on the straight and level. The LH side car, 12v electrics, modern pistons and better carbs are just necessary these days. I do however like the idear of the side valve motor. However there is still the comfort of actually speaking to some one in NZ who says these folk are good to deal with.