PDA

View Full Version : Mystery noise! (AKA the tale of the Kawasaki Balius and the newbie concerned owner)

Cynos
22nd September 2008, 16:26
Well, I can't really disclaim responsibility by calling myself a riding newbie these days, but I'm still a huge mechanical newbie, so please forgive me any omissions.

I ride a 1991 Kawasaki Balius (AKA ZR-250) which has been doing a fair few k's.

Recently, it began making a rattling noise.

This noise:

* As far as I can tell, appears to be coming from the top end of the engine
* Occurs between 2.5K - 4K revs when accelerating or deaccelerating
* Only occurs after long periods of riding - heat related?
* Sounds to me like a rattling cam chain, but to other people it sounds like the "big end bearings" or "valves" so I really have no idea

May or may not be related to the fact that petrol was getting into the oil ways - after having my bike sitting in a garage for 3 - 4 weeks, I emptied the oil, and most of it was petrol. (Turns out that the off position on my fuel tap is not the one labelled 'off'. Who knew) Is petrol supposed to be able to do that?

So, this is probably vague and I should probably just have asked for recommendations for a mechanic, but I'm hoping the appearance of the noise at a certain rev range, while accelerating/deaccelerating, when the engine is hot, rings a bell for someone.

Otherwise, suggestions of good diagnostic mechanics in ChCh welcomed. :)

Max Preload
22nd September 2008, 16:48
For a start... big end bearings are in the bottom end, not the top end so if the noise is definitely coming from the top that's not it.

If your oil is full of petrol it will have quite an effect on it's lubrication properties. Petrol is a mild lubricant, but nothing compared to oil.