PDA

View Full Version : Licence Restrictions - WTF?

Wolf
26th January 2005, 15:41
G'day all

Just after some thoughts and opinions.

I don't know if this thread has come up before as I'm a relative n00b to these fora.

Does anyone else here think the licence restrictions are insanely out-of-date?

Specifically the "no more than 250cc" stipulation, which goes by the false premise that a Suzuki RGV250 Gamma (33.6kW (45hp), 37Nm, top speed around 184km/h) is "safer" for newbies than a Suzuki LS400 (17.9kW (24hp), 26Nm, top speed around 130km/h).

I mean, WTF? For a large number of years now, the potential has been there for total newbies (albeit with a fair few more dollars than experience) to buy a device that would laminate them across the scenery faster than my "dangerous" full-licence-only LS400 "Savage" (more like "Tamed and Neutered").

I think it's high time the LTSA looked at the cc-based restriction critically and changed to a kW-based system (not unlike their "<2kW requires only a learner car licence").

The "less than 250cc" rule might have been fine back in the dim, distant past but the diversity of bikes over the last few years is such that my 1990 LS400 is less powerful than a '82 GSX250E in terms of straight power - before factoring in the power to weight ratio (which puts the RGV250 Gamma way ahead of a Suzuki VS750 "Intruder")

I'm not, by any stretch of the imagination, suggesting that the law be changed to allow a newbie to ride an Intruder (even tho' my Great-uncle learned on gravel roads on a 1340cc Harley without a helmet back in the olden days and having an Intruder for a first bike would probably be safer than an RGV250 - better tyres for a start).

What I propose is that a cap is put at, say, 25kW (GN250 range) which will prevent newbies killing themselves (and possibly others) on some of the high-performance mini-crotch-rockets out there (we do want them to survive and become long-term members of the biker community).