PDA

View Full Version : Help a yank inspect a bike in Hamilton?

the vet
25th October 2008, 07:04
I'm coming to NZ for at least 3 months; touring by bike. Presently trying to finalize a job offer and work visa. If that works out I will be in NZ for at least 9 months. I would like to buy a bike in NZ before I arrive Dec 7, or very soon after I arrive. I have contacted a seller of a bike I am interested in. I am wondering if anyone on this site might be willing to inspect a bike for me in the Hamilton area. I would try to return this favor in some way when I arrive...a meal and a few beers at least...or free consultation and advice for your pet (I'm a veterinarian).

Thanks to anyone who might be able to help. I know there are things that can be missed with cursory inspection, I certainly wouldn't hold anyone to anything---just be nice to know that there is not obvious evidence of crash, leaking oil, bike starts and seems to run smoothly, the reg and WoT(?) are ok, etc.

If willing to help, please email me or post a contact here---don't think I have enough posts to use PM: srndptee@gmail.com

Thanks

desmo dave
25th October 2008, 08:05
Karamea is a long way from Hamilton so i am of no use to you.Great idea asking on here as some1 handy to the bike is sure to turn up.Welcome to NZ for when you do get here.

emaN
25th October 2008, 08:43
there's loads of dudes in hamilton who'll help you out I'm sure

where in the States are ya? i've travelled "a bit" thru' the place

skidMark
25th October 2008, 09:17
They're invading!, lol welcome mate, somebody in Hamilton should be able to sort ya out

:rockon:

Bronza
25th October 2008, 10:01
My hubby(kickingzebra) will inspect any bikes for you. I'll send you an email as well.

the vet
25th October 2008, 12:48
Wow! Generous offers the same day I posted! I can't wait to visit NZ!