PDA

View Full Version : Tri Series prep

Quasievil
17th December 2008, 18:32
Ive been racing on and off for a few years now at club level and have for the most enjoyed it heaps, this year im doing the whole deal with four race days between now and the end of the month, including Wanganui .........every time I think that Im racing at Wangas I get a flurry of nervous tingles up my body (no shit)

these last couple of months have involved lots of time and effort being put into the bike getting everything absolutely mint for the upcoming racing, we have checked out the engine and gearbox etc, we have changed the configuration on it (dropped yokes, changed the rake of the forks) re done all the suspension damping compression rebound spring rate etc, you name it Ive done it I want this bike to be in absolute race trim for these meetings.
Despite having a lower than the competition HP rating of 45.4 at the rear wheel (possibly a bit more now) I am ready, bar putting on a Akrapovic system (8hp) to get me closer to the competition Im ready !!

Had a bit of a dilemma over the whole race tyre thing and have been speaking to heaps of people motarders and tyre companies etc about what I should run in the tri series, I have had on the Metzler drifts (slick) as well as a set of Pirelli corsa slicks SC0 (front) SC1 (rear) both good tyres but the issue for me is I dont have a spare set of rims and wanted a tyre to put on that would cover high speed dry racing as well as damp condition racing (I have wets for rain rain) so after much deliberation and advise from Andrew Lawrence of Darbis I have decided to run some Continental Race attacks (street) it seems Andrew is a bit of a guru with the contis and he advised me very knowledgeably about tyre pressures as well as tyre warmers , bike weight etc and Im now hoping that the descision is going to be correct, always a bit of a worry going into the dark with a new tyre choice brand (body on the line racing etc)