PDA

View Full Version : UK biker riding round New Zealand Jan-March '09

One for the road
10th January 2009, 17:43
Hi there guys and gals,

I've met some of the KB members up in Auckland this week on the thursday night ride-out whilst riding The Stranger's (Noel's) XT, and then the following night at his spit-roast evening (..no giggling at the back there..). All have been a great laugh, and it's been a pleasure to make your acquaintance, especially Noel who's been an absolutely amazing host! - It has to be said that consistently the nicest people I've met on my travels have been the bikers I've encountered. Hence why I'm now writing on here, to see if I can't meet some more of the Kiwi brand.

So for those of you who don't know my story here it is in brief (for more details you can go to www.motonick.com);

Having worked in motorcycle design and related fields for the last 5 years, I decided to jack it in to travel on my motorcycle. I've been riding for the last 9 months from England on 'Maggie', my trusty Yamaha XT660R. Now after 30,000+kms through 16 countries, I've reached the last of my trip, New Zealand. It's been a fantastic ride, and I've met some wonderful people, but new challenges lie ahead as I've decided to pursue setting up a motorcycle company of my own...

Anyway, the bike's arriving next week, and since I'm permanently importing her into NZ, I hope to have her registered and all the necessary paperwork completed by the weekend (all fingers and toes crossed...), before heading off around the north island for about 2/3 weeks. After about 12th Feb I plan on being at my father's place near Nelson for a bit, and then will be touring the south island for a month with my girlfriend who will be arriving 15th Feb.

My route is only loosely determined so far, but anyone who wants to meet up for beers/dinner, ride with me/us, or dare I say it offer me/us some place to sleep, I'd love to hear from you!

Cheers for now!

98tls
10th January 2009, 18:01