PDA

View Full Version : Filtering

FEINT
1st March 2005, 10:01
I am a newbie, so I thought I better post in this forum.

Anybody know the rules, tips & tricks to filtering? I started riding my CBR250RR to uni and back yesterday, and I found it quite hard to filter. Mainly because the gap between two cars on the motorway isn't very large. I also found that I cant actually ride in the same lane as a car, as they are sometimes on the RIGHT HAND SIDE of their lane.

On the way home, I was on the LEFT HAND SIDE of the right lane and that wasn't much easier. The cars seems too close to fit. However, a Yamaha R6 (I think) came by and was filtering, so I followed him. He swayed between the left and right lane, is that normal?

WHich way do I indicate and when?

When there is a traffic lights, are we allowed to ride down the middle of waiting traffic to the front of the line?

Any tips and tricks?

Thanks.

Posh Tourer :P
1st March 2005, 10:23
You are allowed to ride between lanes of STOPPED traffic. As soon as it starts moving, you must be in a lane. You must not go more than 10kmh faster than surrounding traffic. You should be on the right of a lane of traffic, not the left.

Those are the rules I remember....

As for gaps, filtering isnt an easy thing to do when traffic is moving. Dont do it unless you have lightning reflexes and a sixth sense, or you'll get hurt (you might anyway). I do it anyway and have been lucky, but I had to put that warning in there. You will find you get progressively more crazy in your filtering if you do it a lot (I have), so those supposedly un-usable gaps become like lanes unto themselves. Of course, sometimes the cars *are* actually too close to fit, so it is a good idea to try and hold off this for as long as possible, so you dont become one of those who filters "like a crazed weasel on P" before you have attendant reflexes and experience.