PDA

View Full Version : My try at trials.

koba
1st March 2009, 20:18
I managed to bludge a ride on a KT250 for a go at a classic and twinshock trials event.
I have had very little offroad experience and had never even seen a trials event before so I didn't really know what to expect.
As the course was set up I started to get a wee bit intimidated, it was looking all a wee bit to complex for my brain, all these marker things about the place...
After a quick explaination and a lot of walking about I got the idea of what I had to do.

The first three stages were mainly looping in and out of trees with a few jumps over the roots. They looked like they would be really quite easy. (guess what, they were harder than they looked!)

The second, and last, three were in an old dry creek bed that we had to drop into, turn on some and go thru gates over logs and debris and then come up the muddy bank.
They looked like they were going to be as hard as a schoolboy in a stripclub. They were!

These 6 stages were run 3 times to make 18 stages in total

The scoring works a bit like golf with lowest being best.
You get points for cocking up, with a maximum of 5 per stage.

1 for putting your foot down,
3 for putting your foot down twice,
5 for three times.

5 for stopping(It think), moving backwards and falling off.

As you go through a stage it had gate/checkpoint kind of things not going thru these or hitting them is also 5 points.

I got better at the part of the track thru the trees as I got the hang of the bike better and I was stoked with how much fun I had in that bit but some of the guys on this were REALLY good! It was amazing watching on guy taking the expert lines hit a tree almost head on so he bounced off it in the right direction, it bloody worked well too.

The Creek bed basically broke me!
out of the 9 runs I think I got 7 5 point runs and a 3 point one.
My FIRST go was the best with 1 point!
My real offroad skills suck at the moment but this was great development.