PDA

View Full Version : Changing career path. How?

Morcs
4th March 2009, 11:43
Ive decided its time to change career paths.

I like my current job, it pays well, im management, monday to friday, normal hours etc..
Im a Quality Manager in a plastic injection moulding company - the manufacturing industry is in decline, and plastics moreso than most - and im only 22, so best change whilst young eh..
Oh and ive had enough of riding of 50kms a day in auckland traffic.

So how does one go about this? Job ads dont make any sense anymore - shit jobs are made to sound good, most dont specify $, and the rest, after reading the advert, you still have no idea what the job entails.

If anyone has any guidance, or even ideas of what areas to look at, please post.

Im a Quality Assurance manager with an automotive plastics backround, working with ISO, TS16949 etc.. theres not much i dont do. My CV is this field is very impressive, but wont help me too much here i dont think.

I have no qualifications. I always took the stance of jumping in the deep end rather than going to uni so i can recite a text book.

I actually like the idea of being an Executive PA, not the blonde secretarial sort though, but a right hand man type role to someone important.

I dunno.

Finn
4th March 2009, 11:48
My advice... stay put for now and gain the experience. A sudden move in this market could be risky. Someone just posted yesterday that they took a new job only to be made redundant before even starting.

However, if your adamant that you need to change, how about going to see some recruitment companies. They'll do the work for you if you're any good.

Good luck.

keithbuckby
4th March 2009, 11:48
you can search by area, most of them have the salary listed as well

portokiwi
4th March 2009, 11:54
http://www.jobs.govt.nz/default.aspx
is anothe good site to watch.
Seek is great
even trade me jobs isnt too bad.
quite often find the same job posted on seek and trade me and govt jobs on all three

Morcs