PDA

View Full Version : Spark plug broken

nguoixala
19th March 2009, 20:18
Hi guys,

i'm new to this site.
since i'm a newbie i would ask this stupid question (don't know if any1 ever done it....but i did)
yup....while trying to tighten the spark plug, i accidently over forcing broken the spark plug. i couldn't find anyway to pull it out..
please help me ....do i need to tear the engine apart???

speights_bud
19th March 2009, 20:21
if you only broke the ceramic off the top then the hex you put the spanner on should still be there?

ypvs kiwi
19th March 2009, 20:48
If the ceramic is broken - remove all the bits you can by hand then get the vaccum and clean-up the shards of ceramic from around the plug before you unscrew it - last thing you need is bits of spark plug in the motor. Use a plug socket that has the rubber ring inside this will grip the remains of the plug and let you take it out.

Cheers

nguoixala
19th March 2009, 20:51
thank guys but the plug broke where the screw threads meet the hex....that's troublesome

speights_bud
19th March 2009, 20:55
if the socket you have won't pull out the plug once you've undone it try a magnet on a stick or tie one to string to lift it out ;)

Warr
19th March 2009, 21:02
thankz dude....but it broke right at the screw end where it meet with the hex...
that's why it make me crazy....n don't know what to do
hehe..
So you have all the ceramic & center electrode out?? and somehow you have a threaded piece of tube in the plug hole ??????????
If thats the case you need something tapered square or triangular that you can gently insert into the remaining tube tap lightly to engage it into the tube and unscrew anti-clockwise. This maybe possible with the right size screw driver.
Of course in more ideal locations you would use an 'easy-out' but the plugs a buried a little too deep I suspect.
Best of luck :)

nguoixala
19th March 2009, 21:14