PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Dropped bike at low speed, now it won't turn on or start!

steph88m
25th March 2009, 14:31
HELP!!! im new at this and have been going great for a couple of months now. BUT yesterday I stopped in the middle of the road to turn right into my drive way. I probably shud have stopped back further than I did, so that I didnt have to take off and turn so sharply to the right straight away (it was almost ninty degrees) and try get in my narrow steep driveway, not to mention my road is a four lanes busy as road. 'Hillsborough Road' at peak hour traffic. Blonde moment, but i guess once you stop in traffic you cant back up a bit to get more comfy.

Anyways so I took off and obvious going from a stopped position and taking off with my front wheel to the right it was unbalanced and i almost made it and all of a sudden i was lying on the road. DAMMIT!! It wasn't scary because I had waited for a big opening to go, but it was bloody embarrassing!!!!! I jumped up and wheeled the bike down my drive. I ripped the knee of my jeans (note to self must buy proper motorbike pants) and scratched the front brake hand lever thing and a tiny part of the right side of the front fairing, nothing else scratched and nothing bent. But for some reason it wont turn on or start. (its a kick start only) Normally lights come on etc when I turn on the key. I checked the battery, battery is brand new and all still connected fine. All wires I can see are connected as usual but I seriously don't know much about bikes. Nothing leaked when I dropped it,and didnts see anything left lying on the ground afterwards. I will buy someone a box of beer if the can fix it for me!!!!!!!!!!! HELP!! I think it will be something really tiny and obvious.

98tls
25th March 2009, 14:35
Check the kill switch on the bars.

UberRhys
25th March 2009, 14:40
Check the kill switch on the bars.

+1 for this, if not then maybe try crash starting it...

steph88m
25th March 2009, 14:41